top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturetitaseptya

PART IV : TEACHING PRACTICE


A. Procedures


The first procedure that I had to do before teaching was submit my lesson plan to my cooperating teacher. I can submit the lesson plan a week before, a day before or in the morning right before I start to teach. To make less mistake, I usually discussed with my cooperating teacher a day before I teach about the activities and the strategies that I will do in the next day.


My classes mostly in the afternoon, but I always come at 7 in the morning. There's a Flag Ceremony everyday in the morning. Every subjects were opened and closed by prayers. Usually I’ve got 50 – 60 minutes per section, so there’s no exact time about the procedures of my teaching. First I prepared all of the materials, usually I have already been in a class that I will teach 5 minutes before so I can prepare. I wrote the objectives after the prayer or before the prayer. It took 5 minute before the discuss started. After the class ready to start, I discussed the topics. I started to ask the pupils to recall the last activity that we have done and I introduced the new topics, also integrated the values and emphasized the importance of the topics. I gave the activity, it could be games or just exercise. It took 40 – 50 minutes for this section. I finished the class with asking the pupils again about what we have learned or just ask some pupils to make sentences related to the topics. It took 3 – 5 minutes to close the classes.


B. Time management and organizing activities

Since my classes had different time, it could be 50 or 60 minutes and it was 40 minutes on Wednesday because it’s activity day. Sometimes, my time management was messed up because I wasted too much time in the beginning to prepare the presentation, because the projector didn't always work smoothly. I always give a line to each section, opening, main discuss, and closing. In Indonesian format lesoon plan usually the time management will be :

5 minutes : Opening

55 minutes : Discussing

5 minutes : Closing


It depended on the duration of my classes, but I made sure that my time management was getting better each time I teach. My cooperating teacher reminding me in recommendation sometime about the time management.


For organizing activities, I usually discussed it a day before to my cooperating teacher about the activies that I will do. The last day of the meeting for each topics the teacher has to give summative test in the the text book or some questions to the pupils about the topic that we have discussed before. There was also a remedial for the pupils who haven’t meet the expectation.


C. Problem-solving

If there was a problem, such as the topics that I will be discussed or stuff. Me and my cooperating teacher discussed about it before. My cooperating teacher helps me so much to make me a better teacher. In the class, the teachers always expect the pupils to solve their problem better. That’s why clear instruction and to repeat it again are so important.


D. Classroom Management

One of my appreciation from my cooperating teacher was I made it better in the classroom management. I learned a lot from her in her classes to manage the class. There’s some rules in my classes, such as : to not picking up your nose, to cover when you cough, to sit properly, to not raise your hands when the teachers don’t ask you to do that yet and etc. I made it clear since beginning that the pupils can treat me as their friends outside of the classroom but they have to treat me as their teacher inside the class.


For those pupils who seems bored and sleepy, I gave them some ice breaker. There were focuse clap, dance, song or just some stretches. I asked some questions or ask the pupils to explain what I was discussing in front of class to the pupils who seems busy with themselves. I respect the various of learning type so I didn’t wan to get angry because sometime even though the pupils were busy with themselves, they answered well, but I always emphasize that the pupils have to respect their teacher whenever they are

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page